In 1886 Jack Crawford founded the J.W. CRAWFORD COMPANY. Crawford opened the first office in downtown Minneapolis. J.W. CRAWFORD COMPANY’s efforts were focused on remodeling the historic office buildings, restaurants, and warehouses of the Minneapolis metro area, but their more significant client was the Gamble Skogmo Co. in St. Louis Park, MN.
BUILDING A COMPANY, NOT JUST BUILDINGS
Ray Merz joined the company in the 1930’s, purchased the company stock in 1951, changed the name to Crawford Merz Construction and moved the business to 2316 Fourth Avenue South, on the edge of downtown Minneapolis. Ray left a legacy of hard work, honesty and dedication to family and continued to “check in at the office” twenty plus years after his retirement in 1976. Ray Merz’s contributions to Crawford Merz didn’t stop there. During the 1950’s and 60’s, Ray’s sons Tom, Mike and John joined the company. In addition to building Crawford Merz into a recognized leader in the industry, the company began constructing major retail shopping centers in the Midwest, including the first two phases of the Galleria Shopping Center in Edina. Remodeling and building upscale residences promoted new areas of construction in addition to building a reputation committed to extensive church remodeling and renovation.
CONTINUING THE LEGACY
The father and son team of Wayne and Chuck Anderson owned the business from 2001-2013 continuing to focus on the niche markets of office, TI, religious facilities, and historic renovations. The Basilica and Young Quinlan, to name a few.
Our Commitment Today
Todd Hayes is currently the owner of Crawford Merz LLC, which he purchased in 2014. Todd has assembled a highly qualified team of professionals with the experience and knowledge that it takes to serve your construction needs. People who know how to do it right and how to solve problems. The legacy of the company continues as we grow.